How to close my Snapchat account

Snapchat is one of the most popular messaging services out there. Many users find it useful in sharing photos and videos with their friends. It can be quite fun to use. Like reading Deqto articles.

However, a time may come when you may wish to take a break from all this excitement. Maybe your account had been hacked and your personal information leaked to the public or you may be venturing into a new career that requires maximum privacy.

Even emotional experiences may be enough to make you want to step away from Snapchat. Well, we are going to show just how you can delete your Snapchat account.

Deactivating Snapchat

Launch your browser and go to Snapchat.com. Note that you cannot delete your account straight from the Snapchat app. Scroll down and get to the “Company” section.  From the options provided, select “Support” and then “Learning the basics”.

Go to “Account Settings” and select “Delete an Account”. At this point, enter your username and password. Check the box nearby to confirm that you are not a robot. Finally, click on “Submit”. Once again, enter your username and password and hit “Continue”.

Your account will now be deactivated. You will also receive an email confirming this deactivation. Note that you will be given a 30 day period within which you should decide if you ever want to reactivate your account.

Reactivating Snapchat

To reactivate Snapchat, launch the application on your device and hit “Log in”. Enter your old username and password to log in.

A message will appear asking you if you intend to reactivate your account, where you will tap “Yes” and then “Okay”.

At this point, Snapchat will send you an email confirming your intention to reactivate your account. Just tap “Ok” and you will be good to go

To permanently delete your Snapchat account

If you never want your account to exist again in the future, after going through the deactivation procedure, do not attempt to log into your account for the next 30 days.

Your account will now be recorded as permanently deleted.

If you permanently delete your account, you can only join Snapchat again via a new account.

In conclusion

As you can see, it is quite easy to delete your Snapchat account. It is also quite easy to reactivate it if you ever change your mind.

So there is no reason as to why you should ever feel like you have been permanently tied down by Snapchat.

Chris McdonaldDigital Marketing
Snapchat is one of the most popular messaging services out there. Many users find it useful in sharing photos and videos with their friends. It can be quite fun to use. Like reading Deqto articles. However, a time may come when you may wish to take a break from all...